Just a Short…

time ago, it seems, I was a kid.  It actually wasn’t that recently since I’m twenty-two, but in terms of life span (which will, I hope, be pretty long) I’m closer to infancy than elderly.  In some ways it definitely feels like a million years ago, but in a lot of ways if feels like just yesterday that, well, that I looked like this:

Anyone who knows me now would have a hard time believing this is actually me, because I look nothing like this now.  For one thing I am in no way blonde anymore, and my eyes are no longer blue.  However, this is indeed me when I was, I’d say, two or three years old.

There’s no denying the obvious benefits of being an adult, but that doesn’t mean it wouldn’t be nice to be a little kid again sometimes.  There’s something to be said for the freedom of running around all day, with my hair looking like that, ice cream on my face, without a care in the world.  Then getting to curl up on my grandpa’s lap for some relaxation.  Ahh those were the days.  Plus, I used to get a pretty killer tan when I was a kid; this has also vanished with time, weird I know.

It’s usually during summer when I feel nostalgic about being a kid, because winter was way less fun as a child.  There was mandatory outerwear foisted upon us, no outdoor play time, and a myriad of other annoyances (this clearly applies to places with cold winters; So. California in the winter is probably pretty much the same as the rest of the year).  Summer, however, meant long days of bike riding, touch football, basketball, sidewalk chalk drawing, scully playing, ice cream eating, and playing tag till it was dark out.  When I was growing up my block was full of kids my age, and we had a blast, despite out limited outdoor space (such is life as a city kid I suppose).

Anyway, as July winds down, and school looms on the horizon, childhood summers always come to mind.  A time when the first week of school, while dreaded, never came with much work, just lots of textbook covering, but no real homework to speak of. So, it felt like summer was not really over, since the weather was still warm, the days still long, and work in short supply.

I may also just be in a work funk right now, as I sit photoshopping all day. Maybe I’ll flag down the ice cream truck tonight, just for old times sake.

Leave a Reply

