Tumors

No, I don’t mean actual tumors, although I’m not a big fan of those either.  I am referring to food that appears to be growing a tumor.  If you don’t know what I mean than consider yourself lucky, because it’s gross.  I have no explanation for this phenomenon.  Let me provide a visual so you can fully grasp what I’m talking about:

Just finding this image and having to look at it made me dry heave, ick.  Ok, I admit, it’s a strange thing to be so freaked out by. I get upset about really bizarre things, I fully admit this, but I feel as though there must be other people that find this distrubing.

I love to bake, and when I was making oatmeal raisin cookies once I pulled out a tray from the oven and almost threw up.  One of the cookies had this bulbous protruding raisin on the side; it was huge.  I couldn’t deal with looking at it, so I pulled the raisin out, but the large cavernous hole it left in the cookie, grossed me out just as much. So, I had to throw out the cookie.  The people I was with looked at me like I was absolutely out of my mind.  I can understand that, but as pragmatic as I am about most other things, I remain irrational about this.  Now best I can figure, the raisin was too far out of the cookies and air got in the raisin and plumped it up.  In theory this is not bothersome or grotesque, but when played out in life it creeps me out beyond measure.

This is probably something I should be embarrassed to tell people, because it’s ridiculous, but it’s also kind of hilarious in its strangeness.  So, yeah, if you ever witness me throw away a seemingly good piece of fruit, or some other kind of food, now you know why.

Leave a Reply

