Hello Stranger

Okay, maybe it’s just me, but isn’t it really annoying when strangers talk to you? I don’t know what it is about me, but people I don’t know really like to talk to me.  And I don’t mean at parties or stuff like that, you’re supposed to chat with new people then. However, when I’m in the deli getting a sandwich I’m not looking for conversation.  This happens to me often.  People are always trying to have a random conversation with me, and I don’t know why. I get the “hey, how’s it going” bit, because you’ve got to be nice to your customers, but there’s no need for it to go further then that. I don’t want to make small talk, just give me my freakin’ sandwich.

People also seem to love to ask me for directions. This is laughable at best.  I get lost easily, and remember my way by landmarks and such, my sense of direction is a little off. So not only do I have to deal with talking to a random person, but then there’s the added pressure of not sending someone in the wrong direction.  Most of the time this is not a problem, but occasionally, like when I’m in soho or the village, I freak out a little because I never know where I’m going down there.

this girl does not want to be talked to

More than that, I frequently have my sunglasses on and my earbuds in, not the most approachable look.  It always makes me really confused when someone on the subway asks me something when I see a dozen other people around with no iPod or other thing that says: “please leave me alone.” What’s really strange is when someone starts having a conversation with you like they know you. This has happened to me a few times, in Starbucks and places like that.  Just recently I was sitting somewhere and this lady comes up to me and starts talking about her day and saying all these things that I would have no possible way of understanding.  She was acting as though we were buddies, like I knew her backstory, but I didn’t.  So she blurted out this random story, then walked away.  It was bizarre.  After she left I looked around as though someone else should have found this weird, but clearly no one noticed.

In any event, I’m beginning to accept the fact that strangers seem to find me approachable.  I suppose it’s because I’m short and a girl, and therefore non-threatening, who knows.  Like I said, I’m starting to accept this, but it’s still kind of annoying.

Leave a Reply

