Here’s To Future Days

“Did you say it? ‘I love you. I don’t ever want to live without you. You changed my life.’ Did you say it? Make a plan. Set a goal. Work toward it, but every now and then, look around; Drink it in ’cause this is it. It might all be gone tomorrow.”

Life moves so fast, and things can change in an instant. So maybe it’s not even advisable to be a ‘planner.’ I’ve always liked to know things ahead of time, get things done early, and know where I’m going to be and what I’m going to be doing in advance. My former stepdad used to call me Dinkins after the former mayor of New York City, because he said I always had to know everything and was always asking a million questions. I guess most politicians are like that. Anyway, I’m starting to think that perhaps living in the moment, for the most part anyway, is the better route. When you make plans and things don’t work out its generally very disappointing. Now this can be anything; it can be a small thing like a dinner with friends or something big like an engagement/wedding (I mean obviously planning has to go into this but you get my point)

The thing is people are strange creatures. We can never really predict what someone else is going to do, or what they may be thinking. And sadly most people are liars, so believing people’s word can be risky at best. I think it was Bob Dylan who said: “Most people don’t do the right thing. They do what’s convenient, then repent.” Something like that anyway.

 

My point is perhaps the best any of us can do is enjoy each moment of our lives as it comes. And not try to plan for future happiness or contentment, because I’ve come to realize that it’s when I start making plans that I usually find myself the most hurt or disappointed in the end. One way or another. Perhaps the best thing we can do is enjoy the happy moments as they come, and then when they pass (as they inevitably do) look forward to the next one. But who knows maybe people can’t change, maybe we’re doomed to repeat the same mistakes our whole lives. Maybe I will always be a ‘planner.’

Leave a Reply

