As The Summer Sun Fades…

One of my very favorite things about the summer is crisp summer nights outside (with the proper bug spray application of course). Sometimes the days are so sweltering and hot and there is nothing nicer than going outside after dinner when the sun has set and the heat is fading. My favorite season is Fall, and my favorite thing is that first day when you can feel the weather change, and on those sumer nights it’s like a preview of the relief to come. I wish it could be Fall all year.  One of my favorite things is going out in the summer, than walking home lat at night when its so quiet and beautiful out. It’s pretty amazing. I came across this exact sentiment on a blog I frequent: http://1000awesomethings.com/2011/09/01/166-midnight-summer-walks/

It’s now officially Fall and I can feel the summer weather starting to wind down, and I’m certainly looking forward to apple picking, and pumpkin flavored things, and wearing all my fun Fall clothes, but I’m sad the summer is over. Things will be so different now, maybe everything.  When summer ends there is a palpable shift in the air, you can feel it in people’s attitudes, more so that with an other season. It changes people. Perhaps we feel there is more possibility in that fleeting season, where the days seem to last forever, and the nights seem to hold endless possibilities. I’m not sure why this is, but people always expect summer to be so amazing. I guess it’s because that’s what summer was when we were children. Three months of no school and no homework, just waking up whenever we wanted, playing games all day, chasing down the ice cream truck, swimming, going to the beach, and so much more. It seemed like everyday was fun. I guess we never really let go trying to recreate that feeling, perhaps long into adulthood. I used to love playing basketball once the sun went down because we could play for hours in the night air. And now that I’m no longer a child I guess I replaced late night basketball with late night walks outside, and conversations over beers or ice cream (depending on the night).

Well, the summer’s over now, so I guess it’s time to let go and enjoy what comes next. But, there’s always next summer.

Leave a Reply

